

Voting Members

Donald Dear Chair

Gerald McCallum

1st Vice-Chair

Margaret Finlay 2nd Vice-Chair

Kathryn Barger
John Lee
John Mirisch
Holly Mitchell
Francine Oschin
Vacant
(Independent
Special District)

Alternate Members

Anthony Bell
Michael Davitt
David Lesser
Mel Matthews
Hilda Solis
Vacant
(City of Los Angeles)

Staff

Paul Novak Executive Officer

Adriana Romo Deputy Executive Officer

Amber De La Torre Doug Dorado Adriana Flores Taylor Morris Alisha O'Brien

80 South Lake Avenue Suite 870 Pasadena, CA 91101 Phone: 626.204.6500 Fax: 626.204.6507

www.lalafco.org

December 1, 2022

General Managers of Independent Special Districts in Los Angeles County:

As you may recall, LAFCO is conducting an election of the Independent Special District Selection Committee (by mail) to appoint a voting member of the Commission (LAFCO). The vacant position is for a term ending on DATE, 2026. Pursuant to Government Code Section 56332, the law requires that quorum of independent special districts cast votes for the appointment to be valid. The voting period closed yesterday (November 30, 2022), and a total of twenty-five (25) ballots were received by Bill Kruse, who is conducting the election on my behalf; this is one vote shy of a quorum; a quorum of independent special districts (which is twenty-six (26) districts) must cast votes for the results to be valid, pursuant to State law.

Pursuant to authority granted by Government Code Section 56332(f)(7), <u>I hereby extend</u> the voting period until 5:00 p.m. on Friday, January 27, 2023. For those special districts which have yet to vote, please do so in advance of the deadline. For your convenience, I am enclosing a copy of the voting materials package previously mailed to all independent special district general managers.

Bill Kruse and I plan to meet on Monday, January 30, 2023, at which time we will tally all votes, determine the outcome, and notify all candidates and special district general managers. Assuming that there is not a tie amongst the four (4) candidates (a plurality of votes cast determines the winner), the new voting member would be seated for the Commission Meeting on Wednesday, February 8, 2023.

Should you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me or Bill directly.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Paul A. Novak
Executive Officer

Enclosure