

Voting Members

Donald Dear Chair

Gerald McCallum 1st Vice-Chair

Margaret Finlay 2nd Vice-Chair

Kathryn Barger John Lee Robert Lewis John Mirisch Holly Mitchell Francine Oschin

Alternate Members

Anthony Bell
Michael Davitt
Mel Matthews
Hilda Solis
Vacant
(City of Los Angeles)
Vacant
(Public Member)

Staff

Paul Novak
Executive Officer

Adriana Romo
Deputy Executive Officer

Amber De La Torre Doug Dorado Adriana Flores Taylor Morris Alisha O'Brien

80 South Lake Avenue Suite 870 Pasadena, CA 91101 Phone: 626.204.6500 Fax: 626.204.6507

www.lalafco.org

Local Agency Formation Commission for the County of Los Angeles

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING/PROCEEDINGS

MSR NO. 2023-13 MUNICIPAL SERVICE REVIEW AND SPHERE OF INFLUENCE UPDATE FOR THE CITIES OF BELL, MAYWOOD, SOUTH EL MONTE, AND VERNON

Pursuant to Government Code Section 56150 *et seq.,* the Local Agency Formation Commission for the County of Los Angeles ("LAFCO" or "Commission") hereby gives notice as follows:

- LAFCO will hold a hearing/proceedings on Wednesday, August 9, 2023 at 9:00 a.m., to hear and receive any oral or written protest, objections, or evidence that is made, presented, or filed regarding the proposed Municipal Service Review (MSR) and Sphere of Influence (SOI) Update of inhabited territory to the Cities of Bell, Maywood, South El Monte, and Vernon ("Proposal"). The hearing will be held in the Board of Supervisors Hearing Room, Room 381B, Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration, 500 West Temple Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012, unless cancelled or rescheduled by the Commission or the Commission Chair approves an alternative meeting location.
- 2. The Hearing/Proceedings include potential action on a Commission initiated MSR and SOI Update.
- The Proposal has been assigned the following short form designation:
 "MSR No. 2023-13—Municipal Service Review and Sphere of Influence Update for the Cities of Bell, Maywood, South El Monte, and Vernon".
- 4. The Proposal includes the proposed adoption of an MSR and Update to the SOI for the Cities of Cities of Bell, Maywood, South El Monte, and Vernon.
- 5. The affected territory is located within the County of Los Angeles. See maps on reverse for a complete description of the exterior boundaries of the proposed MSR and SOI Update.
- 6. The reason for the Proposal is that state law requires that LAFCO periodically prepare MSRs for public agencies within LAFCO's jurisdiction (Government Code Section 56430 *et seq.*) and designate and periodically update an SOI for each public agency (Government Code Section 56425 *et seq.*)
- 7. Said hearing/proceedings on the Proposal for MSR will be held at 9:00 a.m., on the 9th day of August, 2023, in Room 381B of the Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration, 500 West Temple Street, Los Angeles, California, 90012, or as it may be continued. At said hearing/proceedings, any interested person may present testimony or submit written opposition or comments prior

to the conclusion of the Commission hearing/proceedings on the Proposal. In the event that any written opposition or comments are emailed to info@lalafco.org, mailed, or hand-delivered to LAFCO, rather than being hand-delivered to the hearing location listed herein before the conclusion of the Commission hearing/proceedings on this Proposal, such mailed, or hand-delivered written opposition or comments must be received by the LAFCO Office, at the different address given below, no later than 5:00 p.m. on the business day preceding the date set for hearing/proceedings in order for the mailed or hand-delivered opposition or comments to be deemed timely and to be considered by the Commission in connection with the noticed hearing/proceedings.

8. The subject Proposal and all related documents are on file in the office of the Local Agency Formation Commission, 80 South Lake Avenue, Suite 870, Pasadena, California 91101, and may be examined by any person upon request. LAFCO meeting agendas are posted on-line prior to the meetings at www.lalafco.org. For further information, contact the LAFCO office at (626) 204-6500. The office hours are Monday – Thursday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., closed Fridays and Holidays.







